• Title: Loved A Friend For A Long Time (愛了很久的朋友)
  • Artist: Hebe Tien
  • Runtime: 4:25   Language: Mandarin
  • Date: April 22, 2018

Loved A Friend For A Long Time (愛了很久的朋友) is the title of the new single by Hebe Tien (田馥甄). It was composed by Kay Huang (黃韻玲) and written by Lin Yufan (林珺帆) for the original soundtrack of the movie Us and Them (後來的我們), a directorial debut by Rene Liu (劉若英).

In the song, Hebe reflects on the naivety of young love. Although it is both exciting and passionate, young love often does not pan out the way that we wish it would. Hebe tries to find positivity in that, and croons about how even the most painful break-ups have positive reasons behind them. Despite that, the pain and guilt that she feels is not lost on us.

The music video is a compilation of scenes from the movie that stars award-winning actress Zhou Dongyu (周冬雨) and actor-singer Jing Boran (井柏然). The scenes are lifted to match the lyrics on display as close as possible, but also to give the audience a context of what the movie is about. In between, snippets of Hebe serenading in her soft, lilting voice lends further emotion to the music video.

The ending gives us a good sense of the movie’s narrative, after the build-up of context in the first four minutes. It ends with Boran’s male character asking Dongyu’s female character a cliff-hanging question, which loosely translates to: “If you haven’t left before, what would have been of us after?”

By now, it is clear as day that the two characters had fallen in love before a cruel twist of fate had pulled them apart. Now, they have reunited again – but will they rekindle their love and share a happily ever after? It is a question that we will find an answer to only when the romantic drama film will be released on 28 April 2018 in China.

  • Hot MV
by Nine Chen - Mandarin

Both written and performed by Nine Chen (陳零九), Secret (禾必) is a R&B-meets-rock ballad from his album I Am I Can...

by Juice=Juice - Japanese

Juice=Juice released the promotional video for "Vivid Midnight" which is part of their newest single "SEXY...

by Kyary Pamyu Pamyu - Japanese

Kyary Pamyu Pamyu just released new single "Kimi no Mikata" (きみのみかた) which translates to "your...

by Super Junior - Korean

Super Junior delivers their repackage album “REPLAY” with a little more pizzazz! The title track “Lo...

by TWICE - Korean

TWICE asks “What is Love?” in their newest track from the mini-album of the same title. Most people usually learn...